J. N. Hummel: Suite from the ballet 'Sappho of Mytilene', op. 68




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Oct 10, 2012

The Slovak State Philharmonic Orchestra, under Zbyněk Müller, at the 2012 'Indian Summer in Levoca' Festival, give the first public performance in two hundred years of music from the first three acts of Hummel's 1812 ballet, 'Sappho', from a score especially created by Hummel scholar Ian Christians.

I: Overture II: Andante Maestoso -- Allegro moderato III: Opfer: Larghetto IV: Solo di
Mme Vigano: Adagio ma non troppo-Allegro con fuoco V: Allegretto VI: Marcia con moto
-- Allegretto VII: Pas de deux: Larghetto sostenuto assai -- Allegro vivace VIII: Pastorale.
Allegro vivo. IX: Andante maestoso - Poco Allegretto -- Tempo d'Ecossaise X: Andante con moto - Allegro vivace 'Furiant'. XI: Pas de trois: Larghetto e cantabile -- Allegro

Hummel, born in Bratislava (then Pressburg) in 1778, completed his ballet 'Sappho of
Mytilene' in September 1812 and it had at least one performance in Vienna that year, where it was announced as a 'large heroic ballet'. This seems to have been its only appearance so we were delighted to give it a bicentenary performance this year in Levoča.


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...