Dalbavie Sonnets pt. 1





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Apr 23, 2008

First section of a new work for orchestra and countertenor by Marc-Andre Dalbavie, premiered in Lyons on March 6, 2008. A setting of six sonnets by 16th century French poet Louise Labe (Sonnets V, II, VIII, XII, XV, III ). Live performance in Helsinki by Philippe Jaroussky and the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Dmitri Slobodeniouk, broadcast on March 26, 2008.

Clere Venus, qui erres par les Cieus,
Entens ma voix qui en pleins chantera,
Tant que ta face au haut du Ciel luira,
Son long travail et souci ennuieus.

Mon oeil veillant s'atendrira bien mieus,
Et plus de pleurs te voyant getera.
Mieus mon lit mol de larmes baignera,
De ses travaus voyant témoins tes yeus.

Donq des humains sont les lassez esprits
De dous repos et de sommeil espris.
J'endure mal tant que le Soleil luit :

Et quand je suis quasi toute cassee,
Et que me suis mise en mon lit lassee,
Crier me faut mon mal toute la nuit.

text from http://www2.ac-lyon.fr/enseigne/lettr...

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...