Franz Schubert: String Quintet in D major D. 956




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Oct 12, 2012

The Stamic Quartet are joined by Jozef Lupták (cello), for this performance at the 2012 Indian Summer in Levoca Festival.

I: Allegro ma non troppo II: Adagio III: Scherzo. Presto - Trio. Andante sostenuto
IV: Allegretto

Schubert's magnificent String Quintet is one of the many masterpieces written in his last year. Its richness and dark textures, owing much to the use of two cellos instead of the usual two violas in a quintet, have perhaps led it to be characterised as 'valedictory' music; but let us not forget that the composer was only around 30 when he wrote it -- surely, like many of the works of 1828, it is more of a new path that Schubert was striking out, than a terminus. In its scale, its dramatic 'orchestration', its perspectives of key-change and its melodic profusion it seems to be reaching out to the later Romantics, such as Bruckner and Tchaikovsky.


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...