Top Authors, Illustrators Honored at Fay B. Kaigler Children's Book Festival





The interactive transcript could not be loaded.



Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Apr 23, 2012

Artists and authors who have enriched the lives of both young and old alike were honored Thursday at the 45th annual Fay B. Kaigler Children's Literature Festival on The University of Southern Mississippi Hattiesburg campus.

Jane Yolen, author of more than 300 books and winner of the coveted Caldecott Medal, was honored with the festival's top honor, the Southern Miss Medallion. She was presented the award by Southern Miss President Martha Saunders.

For the first time, the Ezra Jack Keats Awards were presented at the festival. The recipient of the 26th annual Ezra Jack Keats New Writer Award was presented to Meg Medina for Tía Isa Wants a Car, while theEzra Jack Keats New Illustrator Award Winner (and New Writer Honor) was presented to Jenny Sue Kostecki-Shaw for Same, Same but Different.

Deborah Pope, executive director for the Ezra Jack Keats Foundation, was also on hand for the presentations.

Read more at http://www.usm.edu/news/article/top-a...

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License
Comments are disabled for this video.
When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...