Hans Pfitzner: Cantata, "Von deutscher Seele" Part 1 "Mensch und Natur" 1-6





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Jul 18, 2009

Hans Pfitzner (1869-1949)
"Von deutscher Seele" (Of the German Soul)
A Romantic Cantata after texts by Joseph von Eichendorff
for four solo voices, mixed chorus, orchestra and organ

Agnes Giebel (soprano)
Hertha Töpper (alto)
Fritz Wunderlich (tenor)
Otto Wiener (bass)
Orchestra and Chorus of the Bavarian Radio
Joseph Keilberth cond.

Part One: "Mensch und Natur" (Man and Nature)
Pt 1 of 6

Spruch 1 aus "Wandersprüche"

Es geht wohl anders, als du meinst:
Derweil du rot und fröhlich scheinst,
Ist Lenz und Sonnenschein verflogen,
Die liebe Gegend Schwarz umzogen;
Und kaum hast du dich ausgeweint,
Lacht alles wieder, die Sonne scheint,
Es geht wohl anders, als man meint.

Aphorism 1 from "Travel dicta"

It is quite different from what you think:
While you appear ruddy and merry,
Spring and sunshine have vanished,
The dear region has turned black;
And scarcely have you wept your fill
Than everything smiles again, the sun shines,
It is quite different from what one thinks.

Spruch 3 aus "Wandersprüche"

Was willst auf dieser Station
So breit dich niederlassen?
Wie bald nicht blast der Postillon,
Du mußt doch alles lassen.

Aphorism 3 from "Travel dicta"

Why will you set yourself up
So solidly at this stage?
How soon will the postillion not blow,
And then you must leave everything.

Orchestral Interlude:
"Tod als Postillon" (Death as Postillion)

Spruch 3 aus "Wandersprüche"

Was willst auf dieser Station, usw.

Aphorism 3 from "Travel dicta"

Why will you set yourself up, etc.

English translation: Lionel Salter

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...