Liszt Vallée d'Obermann





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Apr 4, 2011

Années de Pèlerinage, Première Année: Suisse (No. 6)

Vallée d'Obermann is the sixth and the longest piece from the collection Années de Pèlerinage, Première Année: Suisse. This set of nine pieces is based on Liszt's impressions of the sights and sounds of his stay in Switzerland during 1835-36. In spite of its title (Valley of Obermann), this piece is not the musical representation of a Swiss landscape, but an emotional experience inspired by the French writer Etienne Pivert de Sénancour's Obermann (1804), a popular romantic novel of the time. Obermann is a novel without a plot: it is a collection of letters written by an imaginary solitary and melancholy character, most likely autobiographical, from a lonely valley of the Jura Alps. Liszt's treatment reflects the sentimental nature of this novel and the melancholy and solitude of its protagonist.

"Could I embody and unbosom now
That which is most within me, --could I wreak
My thoughts upon expression, and thus throw
Soul, heart, mind, passions, feelings, strong or weak,
All that I would have sought, and all I seek,
Bear, know, feel and yet breathe --into one word,
And that one word were Lightning, I would speak;
But as it is, I live and die unheard,
With a most voiceless thought, sheathing it as a sword."

Played by: Jeno Jando

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License
  • Music


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...