Ray Stevens - The Streak (Original)





The interactive transcript could not be loaded.


Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Oct 20, 2012

"The Streak" is from the album called Boogity Boogity and was Ray Stevens' eleventh studio album, released in 1974, as well as his sixth for Barnaby Records. For this album, Stevens returns to the genres of novelty and comedy. The album was released to capitalize on the success of his hit single "The Streak", which was inspired by the fad of streaking during that time period. Stevens' two songs, "Freddie Feelgood (And His Funky Little Five Piece Band)" and "Bagpipes That's My Bag," were taken from his album "Gitarzan" and were reissued on this album. The front of the album cover shows Stevens running in a blur, and also contains the phrases "Woosh!!" and "Don't look Ethel!" the latter of which is part of the lyrics to the primary single of the album.

"The Streak" proved to be an even bigger success than Stevens' 1970 hit "Everything Is Beautiful," reaching #1 in the US, Canada, UK, and New Zealand. Its follow-up single, "The Moonlight Special," was lifted from this album but did not fare as well on the charts. Stevens' 1971 single, "Bridget the Midget (The Queen of the Blues)," first appeared on a collection called Ray Stevens' Greatest Hits but was reissued on this album, making its first appearance on a studio album.

On May 17, 2005, this album and Stevens' album Nashville were re-released together on one CD.

  • Category

  • Song

  • Artist

  • Album

    • The Very Best of......
  • Licensed to YouTube by

    • The Orchard Music (on behalf of Barnaby); AMRA, BMI - Broadcast Music Inc., Audiam (Publishing), and 6 Music Rights Societies


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...