Loading...

#havetojustpicksomething

Inside the Dumpster Studio - Episode 2 - Patrick Benfield

142 views

Loading...

Loading...

Transcript

The interactive transcript could not be loaded.

Loading...

Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Jun 22, 2015

In the second episode of Inside the Dumpster Studio, Doctora Basura and Patrick Benfield, STEAM director for St. Gabriel's School talk about the Dumpster as an empty box starting place, the Maker movement, teaching making in school, design thinking, project based learning, education vernacular, and the fear of pigeon-holing a program based on the name. #havetojustpicksomething

Only took me 9 minutes to realize I hadn't actually introduced him. Episode 2 excitement, and improving bit by bit.

Links to some of the things we talk about:
St. Gabriel's Catholic School: http://www.sgs-austin.org/page/Home
Makey Makey: http://www.makeymakey.com/
Chiptune: http://www.chiptune.com/
Arduino: http://www.arduino.cc/
Raspberry Pi: https://www.raspberrypi.org/
Maker Faire: http://makerfaire.com/
Austin Mini Maker Faire: http://austinmakerfaire.com/
Why We Make, Adam Savage at 2012 Maker Faire: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_otrg...
Project Zero: http://www.pz.harvard.edu/
Agency by Design: https://makingthinkinghappen.wordpres...
Nerd Bus: https://twitter.com/nerd_bus
Human Centered Design, with Ideo: http://www.designkit.org/human-center...
Project Based Learning: http://www.edutopia.org/project-based...
Stanford's d.school: http://dschool.stanford.edu/
HGTV Design Star: http://www.hgtv.com/shows/hgtv-design...
city
Skillpoint Alliance Velocity Program: http://www.skillpointalliance.org/the...
Future City Competition: http://futurecity.org/
City X Project: http://www.cityxproject.com/

Follow us at:
https://twitter.com/McLemoreAve
https://twitter.com/SGSAustin
https://twitter.com/dumpsterproj
https://instagram.com/doctorabasura

Find us at: http://dumpsterproject.org/

Inside the Dumpster Studio is a free- and long-form conversation series with Dumpster Project partners, collaborators, friends, and interesting people of all types. Subscribe to our channel more episodes.

Oh, and the messenger bag is made by Chris Franks of Fortuna Monsoon: http://www.fortunamonsoon.com/
Beautiful, incredible high-quality handmade bags and more.

Loading...

When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next


to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...