Multus #3 Canto Ostinato by Tomoko Mukaiyama




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on May 10, 2015

Tomoko Mukaiyama
Multus #3: Canto Ostinato for 4 pianos

Multus is the title of a performance series created by pianist/artist Tomoko Mukaiyama. Multus means 'many' or 'more' in Latin. The Multus series presents a performance of multiple pianos combined with other art disciplines, inviting listeners to a new experience of music and visual art.

Tomoko started playing the immersive piece of Canto Ostinato with two piano's in 2012, now building it out to four pianos in Multus #3, eventually to evolve in a plurality of piano repertoire for six in the next few years. Thus the piece is an ongoing development that grows within each performance, played in different cities, fed by Tomoko and the different musicians she chooses to work with each time.

Concept: Tomoko Mukaiyama
Music: Simeon ten Holt, Canto Ostinato (1973-1976)
Piano: Tomoko Mukaiyama, Gerard Bouwhuis, Hiroaki Takaha, Kenpo Arai
Production: Tomoko Mukaiyama Foundation
Première: March 7 2015, Asahi Art Square, Tokyo (JP)

Ryogoku Monten Hall
Japan Arts Council
Arts Council Tokyo
Asahi Art Foundation
Manami Ru
Artbeat Publishers
Performing Arts Fund NL
Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands
Hamanasu Art


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...