Denigh - Meanstreak





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Feb 8, 2014

Track #11 from "Fire From The Sky" album by NWOBHM band Denigh, released in 1984. Tracklisting:
01 - Fire From The Sky.
02 - Struck Down (In The City).
03 - Lean On 'Em Hard.
04 - Travelling On.
05 - The One Eyed Jack.
06 - Sentinel.
07 - (You) Put My Neck On The Line.
08 - Synthetic Seduction.
09 - Touche Me.
10 - Give Me Strength (Bonus Track).
11 - Meanstreak (Bonus Track).
The lineup was: Jon Everett (vocals, bass), Phil Allchin (guitar, vocals), Ian Devlin (guitar, keyboards, vocals), John Regan (drums).
Denigh were a first class NWOBHM heavy rock band that should have made it into the higher echelons of Heavy Metal.
Either supporting top acts or on their own, they had and still have a large loyal group of followers who continue to remember the dynamic performance and great songs written by the band.
Due to popular demand but lack of finances, in 1984 their cassette album "Fire From The Sky" was released on Red Admiral Records.
Many attempts to create the vinyl album to break through failed until eventually the band split in 1985.
DENIGH was created in 1978, and quickly became contender as a top favorite regional Heavy Rock band.
The Original line-up of writers Jon Everett, Ian Devlin and Phil Allchin and their original drummer John Reagan.
By 1979, they had replaced most of the usual cover songs with their own material and began pulling respectable sized crowds.
Their first demo cassette featuring "Bed Of Nails", "Burn The Sky" and "Falling Snow", sold well to their fans and spread their name even further.
By 1980, Denigh were riding the crest of a wave, and they decided to capitalise on their newfound popularity by releasing their own single.
At that stage, the musicians had no particular intentions of waiting for a major deal to materialise, and their previous experience of marketing their own cassette product led them to believe (quite rightly, as it, turned out) that they were capable of financing and selling their own vinyl without getting involved with big business.
The single recorded at Oakwood Studios in Kent was released on the Canterbury Ace label as a double A-side "Running" and "No Way", a pair of excellent, heavy numbers which have been compared to Demolition, Virgin Steele & Angel Witch.
Fast sales in local shops and some national distribution got the record into the "Top 100" giving the band an audience all over the UK.
Local radio appearances followed, with the group contributing a few interviews and sessions to the popular BBC 'Kent Rocks' show, hosted by Mike Brill.
Handicapped by lack of cashflow and lack of management they found it difficult to make their presence known to the bigger promoters.
Eventually, however, they were invited to support top touring bands Budgie, Girlschool, Rage, Saxon and Samson, but it was to be a long, hard struggle over the following two years.
Towards the end of 1981 after a dispute over future direction Ian Devlin left the band.
He was quickly replaced by Martyn Harris and scuttled off on a an ambitious tour of France.
For much of the future Denigh would operate as a three piece still plugging away in the regional pubs and clubs, although it's fair to say that they never really achieved the level of success they deserved.
During these years Chris Daughters was also employed as replacement drummer.
A further official demo was circulated in 1983, this being another generous eight-tracker entitled "Lean On 'Em Hard".
The tape featured mostly newer numbers penned by Jon and Phil, such as "Call Me Angel", "Savage", "Roulette" an'd "Ironclad".
Again, local sales turned out to be highly impressive, and the band continued their quest for fame and fortune.
The following year, the lads recorded a full album's worth of original material at Europa Sound Studios in Folkestone initially hoping that someone would stump up the necessary cash to get the thing pressed on vinyl.
With no takers and no money, a deal was struck with Red Admiral Records, the studio's house label, and the album "Fire From The Sky" (Red Admiral DEN 1) including such numbers as "Synthetic Seduction", "Put My Neck On The Line" and "Sentinel" had to be yet another cassette-only release.
Only a few hundred copies made it into circulation, as the group was beginning to lose heart by this time.
Nevertheless, they still proceeded to complete a successful show supporting BERNIE TORME, and managed to create a live recording at one of their concerts for future release in one form or another.
The live tape still exists today and hopefully will be able to be restored for a future release.

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...