First Floor Power -The Jacket





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Jun 16, 2008

Directed by Marcus Söderlund Cinematography Daniel Takács.

The Swedish band first floor power is releasing their third album "don't back down!" on may the 5th 2008. It has been quite a while since the last one, but now they are finally back with their truly exceptional and personal pop music.

It all started 1997 in Malmö. Four people decided to make unpredictable and exciting music.
Back then, a quartet consisting of: Jenny Wilson (vocals and guitars), Karl Jonas Winqvist (keyboards and vocals), Sara Wilson (bass, vocals) and Per Lager (drums, vocals).

The band did their first show ever as the opening act to the American band Redd Kross and they were immediately considered one of the most energetic and original bands around.
They continued to play a lot of shows in Sweden, often as the opening act to more well-known acts like Sixteen Horsepower, Luna, Pavement etc And then they met the Swedish cult-band Bob Hund and they discovered their mutual interests and love for music that takes risks, that comes from the heart and soul, no matter if may be ugly, non-perfect or bleeding...

FFP recorded and released their debut ep "we are the people" (with bob hund's singer Tomas Öberg and keyboardist Jonas Jonasson acting out as producers) in 2000 on the legendary Swedish label Silence Records and in 2001 the debut album "there is hope" (produced also by Jonas Jonasson) came out. During this time Swedish National TV produced an one hour documentary about first floor power, "It's hard to smile when you have a black tooth in your mouth", focusing on the struggle and attempts of a band in it's early career.

The album "there is hope" quickly established first floor power as one of Sweden's most innovative and personal bands. And from the reviews you could tell that this wasn't just some average middle of the road band... Music journalist Lennart Persson among many others claimed: "one of this year's bravest and finest albums". Time Out Magazine NY included the album on their "ten albums of the year" list.

The band went on tour and played now and then for one and a half year in Scandinavia. In 2003 the second album "nerves" was released. A bit more thoughtful and mellow perhaps. It was received with top reviews and critical acclaim. The album was re-released by the French label Telescopic and FFP did a successful tour in France where they played with Electrelane and Kristin Hersh in sold out venues.

After that things went a bit quiet on the first floor power horizon.
Although the members were as active as ever, but now with different side-projects and solo-projects.

Karl Jonas went through a lot of difficult operations because of an aneurysm in the brain, but still managed to release his first solo album at the end of 2005 under the name of Blood Music (and is releasing his second solo album "don quite" in denmark march 2008). Also that year, Jenny Wilson released her first solo album "love and youth" which was a success. Sara Wilson started playing in the band Sir Eric Beyond and the avant-garde which also released an album that was nominated as "best pop act 2006" at the Swedish National Radio's yearly pop award.

Also a lot of people were dancing along that year to The Knife and their hit "you take my breath away" which was a duet between Karin Dreijer and Jenny Wilson and is obviously about the band first floor power. "We're on the first row on the first floor power show.."

But let's fast forward to 2008:
first floor power are finally back to release their new album "Don't back down!".

Also coming out along with the album is a 12-inch vinyl single with a lot of exciting remixes.
(Karin Dreijer from The Knife, John Eriksson from Peter, Bjorn and John etc)

The new album was recorded and mixed in the old analogue studio Upandrunning in Stockholm last year.

It contains eleven songs and bears all the significant first floor power trademarks, but this time perhaps with a more relaxed playfulness. Still, you can easily tell from the songs that first floor power is as important as ever.

The line-up has changed a bit. Sara Wilson plays bass, guitars and sing lead vocals.
Karl Jonas Winqvist handles the keyboards and sing lead vocals. And Per Lager still plays the drums (and sings lead vocals on the closing track "apparently")

Jenny Wilson has left the band since her own solo career and being mother to two sons are well more than enough. Still, she couldn't resist to make a guest appearance on this new album, so she is singing on the duet "silly dream and the flying kite".

The band themselves says: "Like all things in life, things change. It's a part of life. So, when our solid ground/line-up from before didn't look like it used to, we had some choices to make: Look back and live in the past (which really wasn't an option) or continue from where (and who) we are today and face tomorrow. The album title, "Don't back down!" is both an encouragement to ourselves and to others".

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License
  • Song

    • The Jacket
  • Artist

    • First Floor Power
  • Album

    • Don't Back Down!
  • Licensed by

    • Believe Music (on behalf of Crunchy Frog); ASCAP, Downtown Music Publishing, and 1 Music Rights Societies


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...