2011 National Championship Week





The interactive transcript could not be loaded.



Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Uploaded on Oct 18, 2011

The University of California officially kicked-off its 2011 National Championship Week with the unveiling of the National Championship Display Case and Highlight Video Tuesday, Oct. 18 in the Haas Pavilion Lobby.

In what was one of the greatest years in the annals of Cal athletics, three Golden Bear teams - women's swimming and diving, men's swimming and diving, and rugby - won national team titles in 2010-11, seven student-athletes were crowned national champions, and both the men's and women's crew teams produced championship boats. Additionally, Cal was the country's most dominant school in the pool by winning a combined six relays between the men's and women's swim teams.

Among the other events saluting Cal's 2010-11 champions this week will be Friday's celebratory reception hosted by Chancellor Robert Birgeneau and Mary Catherine Birgeneau at the University House on campus. Additionally, the Bears' 2010-11 national champions will parade out to the 50-yard line of San Francisco's AT&T Park during halftime of Saturday's Utah-Cal football game in the culmination of the University's week-long celebration of National Championship Week - a uniquely Cal way of honoring its national champions that began in 2006.

Since its first national championship in 1920 when the football team was considered the best in the land, Cal has now had at least one national champion in 76 of the past 91 years, including every season since the 1973 Bears won the NCAA men's water polo title, making it 38 straight years of athletic excellence in Berkeley.

In its history, Cal has claimed 82 national team titles in 14 different sports, and has produced numerous national champions in crew, swimming relays, tennis doubles and track relays. In all, Golden Bears have won 147 individual national titles, beginning in 1922 when John Merchant won the hammer and shot put, and Allen Norris captured the pole vault, at the national track and field championships.

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...