Eclipse To Mend A Broken Heart




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Jan 29, 2015

Originally released in 2008, Are You Ready to Rock was the third album from Swedish melodic rockers Eclipse. In recent years Eclipse, which features singer/guitarist Erik Martensson (also with W.E.T.) – has become one of the brightest stars in the melodic rock scene, but in 2008 the band was on the verge of calling it quits. Instead the band regrouped, got back to their melodic rock roots, and released an album that took the scene by storm.

Martensson, along with guitarist Magnus Henriksson, seems to have grown by leaps and bounds as a songwriter in the years between 2004’s Second To None and this album. Are You Ready To Rock had all of the insane guitar hooks, irresistible melodies and wild energy that was missing from Second To None, and it’s just an incredibly fun album to listen to. It’s one of those albums that is just made for air guitar and singing along. “Breaking My Heart,” “Under the Gun” and especially “Wylde One” are great examples of the revitalized Eclipse sound, and the whole album is at that same quality level. “Unbreakable” and “Call of the Wild” in particular are very similar to what Martensson would contribute to the W.E.T. debut.

Are You Ready To Rock is just a dynamite melodic rock album all around. It’s hard to believe, given just how good this album is, that Eclipse would get even better with their follow-up album (2012’s Bleed & Scream). If you’re into the European melodic rock sound – think bands like Talisman, W.E.T. (obviously), Brother Firetribe, The Magnificent and H.E.A.T. – you have to hear Eclipse, and Are You Ready To Rock is one of two must-have releases from them, especially now that it has been so spectacularly reissued.

Edition Notes: After spending years out of print, Are You Ready To Rock is once again available thanks to this band-released special edition reissue titled Are You Ready To Rock MMXIV. The reissue has not only been remastered; it was remixed as well, giving it a real boost in sound quality. It also features four bonus tracks – the song “Haunted Wanted” from the original Japanese pressing of the album and three demo tracks from the album’s early sessions. And if all that wasn’t enough, it features expanded liner notes and brand new cover artwork. Honestly, just getting this long sold-out album back in print would have been enough, but they’ve done such a fantastic job with this reissue that even those who already own the original album shouldn’t hesitate to upgrade to the MMXIV version.

Genre: Melodic Rock

Erik Martensson (v) (g) (b) (k)
Magnus Henriksson (g)
Johan Berlin (k)
Robban Back (d)

Track Listing:
1. Breaking My Heart Again
2. Hometown Calling
3. To Mend a Broken Heart
4. Wylde One
5. Under the Gun
6. Unbreakable
7. Hard Time Loving You
8. Young Guns
9. Million Miles Away
10. 2 Souls
11. Call of the Wild
12. Haunted Wanted
13. Rather Be Dead
14. Destination Anywhere
15. Anabel Lee

Label: Self-released

Website: www.eclipsemania.com

  • Category

  • Song

  • Artist

    • Eclipse
  • Album

    • Are You Ready To Rock MMXIV
  • Licensed to YouTube by

    • Rebeat Digital GmbH (on behalf of Blowout Productions Records), and 2 Music Rights Societies


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...