The Harvest Ministers - You Do My World The World of Good





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Uploaded on Dec 29, 2010

Formed around the unique song writing talents of William Merriman the Harvest Minister's music is a blend of classic pop, flowing melodies, and tortured lyrics. The sound of the Harvest Ministers reflects Will's influences, Hank Williams, Ray Davies, Buddy Holly as much as it does traditional Irish culture in its use of instruments like violin and accordion.

The band started life in 1987 in Dublin playing the local circuit as an acoustic trio with William Merriman on guitar and vocals, Maeve Roche on vocals and Padraig McCaul on saxophone. After quickly establishing a loyal following locally the band began playing outside Dublin and extended their line-up to include Pat Dillon on drums and Brian Foley on bass. After making a guest appearance at one Dublin gig Aingeala DeBurca was asked to join the band.

In 1991 the Harvest Ministers released their debut single "You do my world the world of good" on their own label, Crayon Records. Shortly afterwards the band was approached by Sarah Records, a small English label. Sarah Records released "You do my world..." in 1992 and after two further singles, "Six O'clock is Rosary" and "If it kills me and it will" the band released their debut album Little Dark Mansion to universal praise.

Despite the lack of foreign touring the band began to receive mail from all parts of the world, from Japan to Sweden, Hong Kong to Brazil as the album gradually made more and more friends for the band. In 1994 it was released in America on Widely Distributed Records and continued to attract positive reviews and make new friends.

By the end of 1994 work began on the follow up to Little Dark Mansion. With Phil Thornalley taking care of production duties the Harvest Ministers recorded their second album, A Feeling Mission.
The band have played a few special shows in America and hope to be back to the states soon. Meanwhile the Harvest Ministers continue to gig in Ireland, France and Switzerland.

In 2000 The jazzy Embezzling Kisses EP was released featuring the beautiful 'Make me your inseparable'. The band's fourth album 'My Star Is Shining' came out in 2003 on the band's own label Crayon Records, but was only available in Ireland and never saw release anywhere else. The 'Love Will Call On You' EP was released in 2007, and in 2009 the album 'The Light of Which I Speak, Will Merriman's first solo record in conjunction with painter Padraig McCaul. The Light of Which I Speak was noted in Ireland for its stark originality. Basically Will wrote songs to match Padraig's paintings embroidering characters imagined in the landscapes which develops through the nine songs on the record.

In September 2010 The Harvest Ministers release their fifth studio album. It was recorded in New York and features eleven new tracks. Titled 'Strange Love Letter', it is the band's best album since their debut Little Dark Mansion. They are currently looking for worlwide distribution for the release, although it will be available as a download from all the usual digital outlets.

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up Next

Sign in to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...