Shostakovich - Symphony No. 9, Op. 70 - Part 3/5





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Uploaded on Aug 25, 2008

Symphony No. 9 in E flat major, Op. 70

I. Allegro
II. Moderato
III. Presto
IV. Largo
V. Allegretto-Allegro

Composer: Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975)
Performer: Kirov Orchestra
Conductor: Valery Gergiev

Symphony No. 9 in E flat major, Op. 70 was composed by Dmitri Shostakovich in 1945. It was premiered on 3 November 1945 in Leningrad by the Leningrad Philharmonic Orchestra under Evgeny Mravinsky.
The ninth symphony was originally intended to be a celebration to the Russian victory over Nazi Germany in World War II (see Eastern Front). The composer once declared in October 1943 that the symphony would be a large composition for orchestra, soloists and chorus which the context would be "about the greatness of the Russian people, about our Red Army liberating our native land from the enemy". In an occasion of the 27th anniversary of the Revolution held in 1944, Shostakovich affirmed, "Undoubtedly like every Soviet artist, I harbor the tremulous dream of a large-scale work in which the overpowering feelings ruling us today would find expression. I think the epigraph to all our work in the coming years will be the single word 'Victory'."

David Rabinovich recalled a conversation he had with Shostakovich on the ninth symphony in 1944 that the composer "would like to write it for a chorus and solo singers as well as an orchestra". In a meeting with his students on 16 January 1945, Shostakovich informed them that the day before he had begun work on a new symphony. A week later, he told them that he had reached the middle of the development section, and the work was going to be opened with a big tutti. Isaak Glikman heard around ten minutes of the music Shostakovich had written for the first movement in late April, which he described the work was "majestic in scale, in pathos, in its breathtaking motion".

But then Shostakovich dropped the composition for three months. He resumed working on the symphony on 26 July 1945 and finished composing on 30 August 1945. The symphony turned out to be a completely different work as he had originally planned, with neither soloists nor chorus and the mood was much lighter than expected. He forewarned listeners, "In character, the Ninth Symphony differs sharply from my preceding symphonies, the Seventh and the Eighth. If the Seventh and the Eighth symphonies bore a tragic-heroic character, then in the Ninth a transparent, pellucid, and bright mood predominates."
Shostakovich once mentioned that "musicians will like to play it, and critics will delight in blasting it". But the initial reaction of his peers to the new symphony was generally favorable. Gavriil Popov described: Transparent. Much light and air. Marvelous tutti, fine themes (the main theme of the first movement - Mozart!). Almost literally Mozart. But, of course, everything very individual, Shostakovichian... A marvelous symphony. The finale is splendid in its joie de vivre, gaiety, brillance, and pungency!!

Shostakovich's prediction was right in long run: less than a year after its première, Soviet critics censured the symphony for its "ideological weakness" and its failure to "reflect the true spirit of the people of the Soviet Union". On 20 September 1946, a highly critical article by musicologist Izraíl Nestyev "Remarks on the Work of D. Shostakovich: Some Thoughts Occasioned by His Ninth Symphony" was published. It wrote: What remains to be proposed is that the Ninth Symphony is a kind of respite, a light and amusing interlude between Shostakovich's significant creations, a temporary rejection of great, serious problems for the sake of playful, filigree-trimmed trifles. But is it the right time for a great artist to go on vacation, to take a break from contemporary problems?

Neither was the symphony well received in the West: "The Russian composer should not have expressed his feelings about the defeat of Nazism in such a childish manner" (New York World-Telegram, 27 July 1946).

Symphony No. 9 was nominated for the Stalin Prize in 1946, but failed to win it. By order of Glavrertkom, the central censorship board, the work was banned on 14 February 1948 in his second denunciation together with some other works by the composer. It was removed from the list in the summer of 1955 when the symphony was performed and broadcast.


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...