CD "Piano Stories", Philippe Souplet, jazz piano solo (2010)





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Uploaded on Dec 1, 2010

Extracts from the CD:
"PIANO STORIES - Fat Lions, Gentle Dukes and Other Old Friends",
by Philippe Souplet, Piano solo.
Contact: psouplet@wanadoo.fr

Now playing:
- I Guess I'll Have to Change my Plan (A. Schwartz)
- Ain't Misbehavin' (F. Waller) [at 1:18]
- Here Comes the Band (W. Smith) [at 2:43]
- Mood Indigo (from Ellington-Strayhorn medley) [at 4:19]
- If Dreams Come True (E. Sampson) [at 5:35]
- Retrospection (D. Ellington) [at 7:01]
- Morning Air (W. Smith) [at 8:37]
- It Don't Mean a thing (D. Ellington) [at 9:22]

The CD also includes:
- Chelsea Bridge (Strayhorn)
- The Mule Walk (J.P. Johnson)
- Honey Hush (F. Waller)
- I've Got a Feeling I'm Falling (F. Waller)
- Melancholia (D. Ellington)
- Conversation on Park Avenue (W. Smith)

Rooted in the jazz piano tradition of the 1920-1940's, this record presents a personal blend
made of Harlem "stride" piano style of Fats Waller, James P. Johnson and Willie "The Lion" Smith, of compositions by Duke Ellington, of Teddy Wilson's swing piano style,
mixed with more modern be-bop influences.
Recorded July 2010 in Paris. Piano: Steinway Concert Grand, model D.

See reviews by jazz critics:
- Michael Steinman from New-York:
- Scott Yanow from Los Angeles:
- Jack Rummel from Colorado:

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...