17 - John Frusciante - 23 Go Into End (Shadows Collide With People)





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Uploaded on Oct 7, 2010

John Frusciante - 23 Go Into End
Album: Shadows Collide With People (2004)

Shadows Collide with People is the fourth studio album by John Frusciante, released February 24, 2004. The album was written during the recording of By the Way, and is widely regarded as his most accessible work, featuring a mix of guitar-driven alternative rock, folk ballads, and electronica. Frusciante has stated that this was his most expensive album to date, costing around $150,000 to produce.

Flea plays a double bass on "The Slaughter", the closing track of the album. All tracks were written by John Frusciante and the majority of the vocal work is performed by him.

Frusciante also made acoustic and demo versions of these tracks available to fans through his official site, now only a blog, as an alternative to the highly produced sound of the record. A promo version of the album was also made, with the tracks "Omission", "Song to Sing When I'm Lonely", and "Failure 33 Object".

The album reached number 191 on the Billboard 200 and #11 on Heatseekers.

On the vinyl release of the album the words "One step away" were inscribed on side A, "There's riddles in the shadows" on side B, "A hint of sadness" on side C, and '"What they least suspect is coming next" on side D. All of these were hints to lyrics on John's next solo album The Will to Death.

1. Carvel [4:14]
2. Omission [4:34]
3. Regret [2:58]
4. Ricky [3:57]
5. Second Walk [1:42]
6. Every Person [2:38]
7. -00Ghost27 [3:50]
8. Wednesday's Song [3:31]
9. This Cold [2:00]
10. Failure33Object [2:55]
11. Song To Sing When I'm Lonely [3:17]
12. Time Goes Back [3:23]
13. In Relief [3:36]
14. Water [4:06]
15. Cut-Out [3:34]
16. Chances [1:50]
17. 23 Go In To End [6:42]
18. The Slaughter [3:52]
19. Of Before [3:17] (Japanese bonus track)


Release date: 23rd February 2004 in US, 24th February in the rest of the world, 3rd March in UK and 6th March in Japan
Released: Worldwide
Publisher: Warner Bros
Duration: 1 hour, 4 minutes, 50 seconds
Bonus track: "Of Before" available on the Japanese import of the CD
John plays: Guitar, bass, synthesizer, drums and percussion
Other musicians: Josh Klinghoffer plays the same instruments as John (they're listed together in the credits); Chad Smith plays drums and percussion, Omar Rodriguez plays slide guitar on "Chances" and "23 go in to end" Flea plays upright bass on "The Slaughter" and Charlie Clouser did orchestral programming on "Regret" and "Chances"
Produced by: John Frusciante
Engineered by: Jim Scott, Ryan Hewitt; "23 go in to end" and "Failure33Object" by Ethan Mates
Mixed by: Jim Scott
Assisted by: Chris Holmes, Jason Grossman, Chris Ohno
Recorded/mixed at: Cello Studios, Hollywood, CA, USA
Mastered by/where: Bernie Grundman/Bernie Grundman Mastering Hollywood, CA, USA
Designed by: Richard Scane Goodheart
Cover painting by: Rene Ricard
Art direction by: John Frusciante
Equipment by: Dave Lee
Management: Q-Prime Inc.


  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...