Symphony No. 2 Double Planet: IV Day and Night




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Sep 20, 2011

Symphony No. 2 Double Planet: IV Day and Night
This symphony by Stuart Greenbaum is scored for a chamber orchestra of 20 players, cast in 4 movements:

- Preview #1 (2')
- Double Planet (8')
- Preview #2 (1')
- Day and Night (4')

The work was specially commissioned by Melbourne Symphony Orchestra to support the 2011-2015 VCE Music Study Design.

Visit http://www.mso.com.au/education/furth... to view the comprehensive and interactive online learning resource which features:
• a downloadable audio-visual performance of the work
• streamed interviews with the composer and conductor
• a full analysis of the compositional process, including compositional devices used and illustrated by excerpts from the score

The work is concerned with miniaturization, self-similarity and transformation. The shorter preview movements are 'fast-forward' representations of the two longer movements which themselves respond to pictures by the Dutch graphic artist, M.C. Escher whose work in general addresses these issues.
The Double Planet learning resource is a collaboration between the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra and The Song Room. It is funded through the collaborative Internet Innovation Fund by the Department of Business and Innovation.


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...