Johnny Colon - Son Montuno





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Dec 20, 2009

Portrait of Johnny captures Johnny Colon in the midst of his evolution from the Latin soul of his previous records into the smoldering salsa approach of his later efforts. The album also embraces elements of psychedelic funk and even the blues, yielding a dark, edgy atmosphere that contrasts sharply but effectively with the infectious energy of the underlying groove. Most impressive is Colon's trombone work, which expands the stylistic and spiritual reach of his past records to forge a sound that's both serpentine and swaggering. ~ Jason Ankeny, All Music Guid

Johnny Colon & His Orchestra

Portrait Of Johnny


1. Cosa Pa Ti
2. Son Montuno
3. El Panadero
4. Ya -Yi-Ki
5. New York Mambo
6. Guajira Y Tambor
7. Retorno Del Mambo
8. Afincao


* George Goldner
* Producer
* Charles Stewart
* Photography
* Johnny Colon
* Trombone, Vocals, Main Performer
* Carmelo "Pito" Maldonado
* Timbales
* Hector Torres
* Bass
* George Haskins
* Piano
* John Murello
* Cover Design
* Ismael Quintana
* Maracas, Vocals (Background), Guiro
* Bob Liftin
* Engineer

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License
  • Suggested by Live Nation Video Network

  • Song

    • Son Montuno
  • Artist

    • Johnny Colon
  • Album

    • Tierra Va A Temblar
  • Licensed by

    • Live Nation Video Network (on behalf of Fania-QIM); Downtown Music Publishing, UBEM, and 3 Music Rights Societies


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...