Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: String Quintet no. 5 in D Major K. 593




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Sep 17, 2016

I. Larghetto -Allegro II. Adagio III. Menuetto: Allegretto IV. Allegro ·

Mozart's penultimate string quintet was written in December 1790, but only published in 1793
after his death, when it was said to have been written "for a Hungarian music lover". This may well
have been Johann Tost (also a friend of Haydn). As in many of Mozart's later works, there are
anticipations of many of the characteristics of musical romanticism, with innovations in texture, changes of key, and unexpected recurrences of motifs in, and between, the work's different movements; but it is also notably rich in counterpoint, with many of the instrumental exchanges in the slow movement being particularly rich and expressive.

The Kodaly Quartet is joined by Avishai Chaimedes (2nd viola) for this performance on the opening night of the 2016 Indian Summer in Levoca Festival. Concert given with the support of the Hungarian Institute in Bratislava.


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...