History of Vanniyars.mp4





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Mar 9, 2012

The Vanniyars were known as Vanniakula Kshatriyas and Padayatchis. Depending upon the status, the members of the Vanniyar caste use titles such as Padayatchi, Gounder, Naicker/Nayagar, Kander/Kandar, Palli in Tamil Nadu, in Karnataka they are called Tigala or Thigilaru with a common suffix of Gowda and Nayakar.

In Andhra Pradesh, Vanniars are usually known as Palli, Agnikula, Kshatriya, Vanne Kapu or Naik. There are 92 different names or sub caste/sub titles given for Vanniya Kula Kshatriyas. This can be seen in the book written by A.K.Natarajan of Vanniyar sangam.

- From 240 AD to 943 AD - Pallava Empire

- From 943 AD to 1313 AD - Chola Empire

- From 1278 AD to 1456 AD - Kandavas, Sambuvarayar, Kadavarayar dynasty

- From 1456 AD to 1798 AD - Kalingarayar, Naicker Dynasty as poligar, chiefians under feudral rule of vijiyanagar empire and arcot nawab

- From 1798 AD to 1947 AD - British Rule, but most of the villages & towns are under the direct rule of Vanniar Gounder, Naicker, Reddiar and Padayachi zamindars. - - From 1947 AD to still date - Tamil Nadu Toilers Party, Common Wheel Party and PMK dominate parts of North Tamil Nadu in electoral junctions.

Comments are disabled for this video.
When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...