In Remembrance, an American Requiem: Finale "Pure Passion" composed by Rodney Money





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Jan 25, 2011

"Pure Passion," scored for orchestra, is the finale of the large-scaled work "In Remembrance, an American Requiem." The term "American Requiem" does not mean "for Americans," but means "composed by an American" giving homage to Johannes Brahms's "German Requiem." Some would also dub this work "The Money Trumpet Concerto" since it features the emotional range of the instrument from gentle compassion to extreme epic majestica, but the entire range of the brass family, including: flugelhorn, horn, trombone, bass trombone, euphonium, and tuba, is also explored throughout the piece through pure, unadulterated power. Out of the haunting enchantment of "The Garden of Love" the listener has a since that Death is resolute and the end of our journey, but "Pure Passion" comforts us in declaring, "Death is only the beginning." Lasting around 7 minutes and featuring 7 different instruments of the brass family, "Pure Passion" is dived up into 7 sections following one's life from their Earthly Mother to their Heavenly Father. This requiem was not composed for just the memory of one soul, but to all the loved ones who are so dearly missed and made a lasting impact on all our lives.

Since the laptop computers of our day have such poor output quality, this work is best listened to on quality headphones or high quality speakers to hear the richness of the lows and inner voices of the work. Listening Guide to the music with the pictures:

1. Earthly Mother (pictures: night, as one sleeps and not yet awaken)
2. Birth and the pure innocence of childhood (sky opening up to the pureness of snow)
3. Adulthood and true love (Tree of Life and shimmering, vivid colors)
4. Passing away (sunset to night. Note: the birds throughout the pictures represent guardian angels with us even through the passing of Death. Also note that in the very first picture with the woman, a bird sits on top of the tree.)
5. Time of reflection, remembrance, and the immersing soul from the entrapment of the body (blue pictures representing reflection and waves representing the rushing freedom of the soul)
6. The soul rising ("Discovering Eden," mountains, sky, and beyond)
7. Heavenly Father ("Hand of God and of Ours")
Rodney Money composingatnight@yahoo.com

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...