The Civil Wars // Billie Jean // VH1 Unplugged





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Oct 16, 2012

Watch The Civil Wars cover Michael Jackson's hit song, "Billie Jean," from VH1 Unplugged - available on iTunes November 13th.

Production of VH1
Directed by Jeff Baumgardner
Recorded & Mixed by Jason Gates & Eric Spring

On November 13, two-time Grammy award-winning duo The Civil Wars will release the audio and video from their acclaimed "VH1 Unplugged" performance exclusively on iTunes (Sensibility Music). The 7-track EP features duo partners John Paul White and Joy Williams (who is the first known musician to perform pregnant on "Unplugged") and includes material from the band's RIAA certified Gold album, Barton Hollow, as well as their song "Kingdom Come" from The Hunger Games: Songs from District 12. The release also includes never-before-released renditions of Michael Jackson's "Billie Jean" and Portishead's "Sour Times" (see below for complete track-listing).

This latest release adds to an already widely successful few years for the duo, who won "Best Folk Album" and "Best Country Duo/Group Performance" at 54th annual GRAMMY Awards and "Duo/Group of the Year" at the 2012 Americana Music Association's Honors & Awards. The band also performed 60 seconds of the album's title track on the live GRAMMY Award's broadcast. The band is also nominated for two CMA Awards— for "Vocal Duo of the Year" and "Musical Event of the Year" (for their collaboration with Taylor Swift on "Safe & Sound" from The Hunger Games soundtrack).

In addition to performing on "VH1 Unplugged," the band has also appeared on "Good Morning America," "Late Show with David Letterman," "Jimmy Kimmel Live!," "Austin City Limits," BBC's "Later...with Jools Holland," "A Prairie Home Companion," "Morning Becomes Eclectic" and three times on "The Tonight Show with Jay Leno." Moreover, the music video for "Barton Hollow" is currently featured on VH1's "Pop Up Video" program.
After taking a short summer hiatus following the birth of Williams' son, the duo will resume touring this fall, including appearances at San Francisco's Hardly Strictly Bluegrass Festival and the Austin City Limits Music Festival. See reverse for complete details.

1. I've Got This Friend
2. Kingdom Come
3. Sour Times
4. Poison & Wine
5. Barton Hollow
6. 20 Years
7. Billie Jean


  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...