Ceol Uisce: Máire Úna Ní Bheaglaoich & Junshi Murakami




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Feb 23, 2013

New album from Máire Úna Ní Bheaglaoich (accordion&concertina) and Junshi Murakami (harp) out now.
Máire Úna Ní Bheaglaoich (Mary Begley) is from West Kerry Gaeltacht area, from a musical family (she's a cousin of Séamus, Brendan, Seosaimhín and Máire). She grew up listening to the music and learning tunes from family and neighbours. She is a familiar figure playing and tapping her feet away in Dublin town, cheering up people. She says 'Music is the best part of life'.
Junshi is from Tokyo, Japan. He came to Ireland particularly for the interest in the harp and the traditional music. He studied the harp in Dublin and now enjoys teaching.
We met in the street of Dublin one day some 10 years ago. Since then, we have shared many tunes and laughter.
We wanted to hear a CD with simple cute tunes, and that's how we started making this recording. We wanted to include the tunes that Máire heard when she grew up in Kerry. For Junshi, hearing those tunes and stories was like a journey through the music to the heart of Ireland.
Harp is raindrops and box is waves, hence we call our album Ceol ''kyowl 「キョール」'' (music) Uisce ''ish-keh 「イシュカ」'' (water).

Printed on recycled paper.

Wool picture artworks beautifully crafted by Siobhán Begley. (http://www.siobhanbegley.ie)

Track Listing:
1. March: Deadman's March
2. Polkas: Sonny Reardon's (Dan O'Leary's) / Gioing to the Races
3. Jigs: Paddy O'Brien's / Little Biddy Daly's (Health to the Ladies) / Battering Ram
4. Polkas: Charlie Hunter's / Dark Girl Dressed in Blue / Upperchurch Polka
5. Jigs: Tom Mhic Jig / Carraroe Jig
6. Air: Táimse im' Chodladh
7. Reels: Heather Breeze / Castle Kelly
8. Jigs: My Favourite Dram / Old Favourite / Welcome to Cornucopia
9. O'Carolan: Fairy Queen
10. Medley: An Dró / Banshee / Farewell to Whiskey
11. Polkas: Tom Mhic Polkas
12. German&Hornpipe: If There Weren't Any Women in the World / Showman's Fancy
13. Air: Ó Beir Mo Dhúthracht

Available online at:
Claddagh Records (http://claddaghrecords.com)
タムボリン [日本国内取扱店] (http://www.tambourine-japan.com/irish...)

Contact: ceoluisce@gmail.com


Thanks for your support!


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...