J.R.R. Tolkien, Symphonic Poem, Quendi (1)




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Nov 23, 2010

J.R.R. Tolkien, Silmarillion, Quendi (Part 1)

Music by Martin Romberg,


Symphonic Poem for Orchestra after the tale by J.R.R. Tolkien. Performed by Orchestre National de Montpellier/Robert Tuohy, June 2010.

Originally, in the 1910s and 1920s, Ingwë, Finwë and Elwë (their final names) were the eldest of the Elves. By 1959 or 1960, Tolkien wrote a detailed account of the awakening of the Elves, called Cuivienyarna, part of Quendi and Eldar. Ingwë, Finwë and Elwë now became the first ambassadors and the Kings of the Elves. This text only saw print in The War of the Jewels, part of the analytical The History of Middle-earth series, in 1994, but a similar version was included in The Silmarillion in 1977.

According to the earliest account, the first Elves are awakened by Eru Ilúvatar near the bay of Cuiviénen during the Years of the Trees in the First Age. They awake under the starlit sky, as the Sun and Moon have yet to be created. The first Elves to awake are three pairs: Imin ("First") and his wife Iminyë, Tata ("Second") and Tatië, and Enel ("Third") and Enelyë.


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...