Frederick Delius, Walk to the Paradise Garden, Atkinson Grimshaw





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Uploaded on Mar 8, 2011

Frederick Delius, Frederick Theodore Albert Delius CH (1862- 1934), Walk to the Paradise Garden,
London Symphony Orchestra, Sir John Barbirolli.
Works by John Atkinson Grimshaw (1836- 1893). "Walk to the Paradise Garden" is the orchestral interlude
between Scenes 5 and 6 of the opera "A Village Romeo and Juliet". The Paradise Garden is actually a dilapidated Pub
where the lover's Sali and Vreli can "dance all night". The rural lover's have known each other since childhood
and are willing to die together rather than give in to the pressures that will seperate them.
This interlude seems to synthesize many elements found in the opera, the "Paradise Garden", a seedy country dance hall
where the two lovers make a pact to do themselves in, a plot of land where they played together during their childhood,
the Dark Fiddler and his simbolic social conflicts, the hay barge which will sink in the river and carry them to their death,
and most of all, the heartbreak of Love; painful it weaves in long almost unbearable phrases,
an operatic play within a play based on the definition of the words "Paradise Garden".

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License
  • Music


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...