Vivaldi Motet Nulla in mundo pax sincera RV630





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Uploaded on May 18, 2009

Antonio Lucio Vivaldi (1678 † 1741)

Work: Motet "Nulla in mundo pax sincera" in E major, RV630

1. Aria:

Nulla in mundo pax sincera,
sine felle; pura et vera
dulcis jesu est in te.

Inter poenas et tormenta,
vivit anima contenta,
casti amoris, sola spe.

Emma Kirkby (soprano)

Dir: Cristopher Hogwood
The Academy of Ancient Music

Nulla in mundo pax sincera (RV 630) is a sacred motet composed by Antonio Vivaldi to an anonymous Latin text, the title of which may be translated as "In this world there is no honest peace". Written in the key of E major and in the typical lyrical Italian Baroque style, it is scored for solo soprano, two violins, viola and basso continuo, this would normally be a cello and keyboard instrument, in Vivaldi's case often the organ. The text dwells on the imperfections of a world full of evil and sin, and praises Jesus for the salvation he offers from it.
The motet consists of three parts (Aria; Recitative; Aria), followed by a concluding Alleluia. A full performance of the piece takes approximately 13 minutes.

The first aria of the piece was featured in the closing credits of the 1996 film Shine.

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...