Ojos Brujos. Leo Brouwer. Alí Jorge Arango 2006




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Jun 26, 2008

Alí Jorge Arango.

Sala Hipóstila. Fundación "Antonio Gala"
Córdoba 2006.

Alí Arango was born in Havana, Cuba. He graduated from the conservatory “Amadeo Rodán” in 2001. Parallel he was a student of Maestro Antonio Alberto Rodríguez (Biki) and Maestro Joaquín Clerch. Ali Arango has received master classes from Maestro Leo Brouwer as well as participated in different projects with Brouwer.

He has been awarded in several guitar competitions. Among his most important awards are: First Prize, Alhambra Prize for new Spanish creation and Public Prize in "XIIº Concurso Internacional de Guitarra Alhambra" (Valencia. Spain); First Prize in "VI Encuentro Internacional de Guitarra “Norba Caesarina” (Cáceres. Spain); First Prize in Competition of Palau de la Música de Barcelona “El Primer Palau”; First Prize in “Düsseldorfer Gitarfestival” (Germany); Second Prize in "XIII Concurso Iternacional de Guitarra José Tomás - Villa de Petrer" (Alicante. Spain); Second Prize and Public Prize in V Encuentro de Guitarra Clásica “Norba Caesarina”; Second Prize in VIII Encuentro Internacional de Guitarra “Ciutat de Torrent” (Valencia. Spain); Third Prize in Concurso Internacional de Guitarra Clásica Gredos San Diego (Madrid); Third Prize del XXIV Certamen Internacional de Guitarra "Andrés Segovia" (La Herradura. Spain) and Third Prize in XII Concurso y Festival de Guitarra de La Habana “Leo Brouwer”; Especial Prize Guitar “Kohno Sakurai” XI Concurso y Festival Internacional de Guitarra de La Habana.

Alí Arango has played extensively, he has toured in Catalonia and at 19 years old toured throughout Cuba with the National Symphony Orchestra invited by Leo Brouwer, interpreting the Concierto de Aranjuez. He have made the world premiere performance of three of Brouwer’s works: "Paisaje Cubano con Tristeza" (for guitar); "Gismontiana" (for four guitars and a string orchestra) and Nr. 1 Series of "Danzas Rituales y Festivas" (for guitar).

He has performed as a soloist accompanied by orchestra interpreting: Concert Nr. 3 "Elegíaco" by Leo Brouwer; "Concierto de Aranjuez" by Joaquín Rodrigo; “Concert for Guitar and Orchestra” by Mario Castelnuovo Tedesco and “Concert for Guitar and Orchestra” by Heitor Villa-Lobos.

As a composer Alí Arango has created works for guitar, duets for guitar and other instruments, chamber formats, and music for audio visuals, video art and documentaries.

At present he forms part of the TRAZA QUARTET (two guitars, violin and violincello). Together with three Cuban musicians, with works composed specifically for the quartet, TRAZA explores the fusion between Cuban music, jazz and contemporary music.

Currently Alí Arango plays a Paco Santiago Marín XXX Anniversary guitar.



When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...