César Cui: Serenade, from 'À Argenteau', Op. 40





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Uploaded on Jul 10, 2008

Cui (1835-1918) was a nember of the group of Russian composers known as 'The Five' or 'Mighty Handful'. Like most of the other members he was not a full-time musician and was actually a Russian army general, and expert on fortifications. He was nevertheless a prolific composer. 'À Argenteau' is a set of nine pieces from 1887 - musical reminiscences of the Belgian estate of his patron, Louise, Comptesse de Mercy-Argenteau. The opening section of the Serenade is - to nme - vaguely reminisent of the final part of Rimsky-Korsakov's 'Capriccio Espagnol', written in the same year. Glazounov later orchestrated five movements from the suite, including this one.
Played by Phillip Sear

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...