Rheinberger - Organ Concerto, no. 1, op. 137 (1/3)





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Uploaded on Apr 26, 2009

I. Moderato

Michael Murray on the organ in the Royal Albert Hall.
Royal Philharmonic Orch. conducted by Jahja Ling

Joseph Gabriel Rheinberger (also Josef) (March 17, 1839, in Vaduz November 25, 1901, in Munich) was a Liechtensteinian organist and composer.

When only seven years old Rheinberger was organist at Vaduz Parish Church, and his first composition was performed the following year. In 1851 he entered the Munich Conservatory, where he later became professor of piano and subsequently professor of composition. When the Munich Conservatorium was dissolved he was appointed répétiteur at the Court Theatre, from which he resigned in 1867.

Today he is remembered almost exclusively for his elaborate and challenging organ compositions which include 2 concertos, 20 sonatas, 22 trios, 12 Meditations, 24 fughettos, and 36 solo pieces. His organ sonatas were once declared to be undoubtedly the most valuable addition to organ music since the time of Mendelssohn. They are characterized by a happy blending of the modern romantic spirit with masterly counterpoint and dignified organ style.

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up Next

Sign in to add this to Watch Later

Add to