Lillian Smith Book Awards 2014





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Oct 4, 2014

Two exceptional books were be recognized with the 2014 Lillian Smith Book Awards. These awards were established in 1968 by the Southern Regional Council to recognize authors whose books represent outstanding achievements demonstrating through literary merit and moral vision an honest representation of the South, its people, its problems, and its promise.

The year's Forty-Sixth Anniversary Awards Ceremony was a partnership between the Southern Regional Council, the University of Georgia Libraries, and the Georgia Center for the Book. It was presented in connection with the Decatur Book Festival at the DeKalb County Public Library in Decatur, Georgia on Sunday, August 31, 2015 at 2:30 p.m.

The 2014 Award Recipients were:

We Shall Not Be Moved
The Jackson Woolworth Sit-In and the Movement it Inspired

By M.J. O'Brien

In Peace and Freedom: My Journey in Selma

By Bernard Lafayette Jr. and Kathryn Lee Johnson, foreword by Congressman John Robert Lewis, afterword by Raymond Arsenault


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...