Khol (Mridanga) Lesson 15A Part 1 of 2: Drut Kahervā Tāla Prakār 3





The interactive transcript could not be loaded.



Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Oct 24, 2013

This lesson introduces the concept of cyclic sets. A cyclic set uses more than one cycle to complete it's form. Prakār 3 has two full cycles of eight matras to complete it's rhythmic form. To learn the cyclic set, the avartan method is used. In this method, each avartan (cycle) is studied independently. Afterwards, all of the avartans are fused together to produce the cycle.

The bols are

Cycle 1: dhin - tā dhā ti - tā tā
Cycle 2: kat - tā dhā ti - dhā tā

If you pay close attention to the dayan side, it is the same pattern as that of Drut Kahervā Prakār 1. It can be said to be a cyclic set of Drut Kahervā Prakār 1, although it is NOT the only possibility.

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...