Viktor Ullmann: String Quartet no. 3 op. 46




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Oct 21, 2014

Viktor Ullmann (1898-1944). String Quartet no. 3, op. 46.
I. Allegro moderato – II. Presto – III. Largo - IV.Allegro vivace e ritmico
Ullmann, born in Těšín (now on the borders of Poland and the Czech Republic), studied under Schoenberg and Alexander Zemlinsky in Vienna and Prague. Living in Germany, he fled to Prague in 1933, but in 1942 was taken to the internment camp of Terezin (Theresienstadt), where, despite the conditions, he continued to compose, including his extraordinary opera “The Emperor of Atlantis”. Ullmann wrote “(In) Theresienstadt … we certainly did not sit down by the waters of Babylon and weep, ... our desire for culture was matched by our desire for life.” The highly expressive Third Quartet was completed there in January 1943. On October 16 1944 Ullmann was deported to Auschwitz and was murdered there in the gas chambers two days later.

This fine performance by the Czech Philharmonic Quartet comes from the opening concert of the 2014 'Indian Summer in Levoca' Festival


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...