Alfred Hill Viola Concerto




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Oct 24, 2016

Alfred Hill Viola Concerto performed by Ellie Harrison (Viola), John Curro (conductor) and the Queensland Youth Symphony (2014)

Alfred Hill:
Viola Concerto (1940)
I Moderato II Andantino III Decisivo
Alfred Hill (1869-1960) was a leading figure and pioneer in Australasia throughout his lifetime as a composer, conductor, violinist and violist. Hill’s Viola Concerto is particularly significant as it is once of the very few romantic concertos written for viola. The concerto has three movements - Moderato, Andantino and Finale. It is in turn highly lyrical, virtuosic and deeply felt, exploring many beautiful qualities of the viola. There is a surprise in the third movement when Ellie plays her own cadenza. This is a very charming and rewarding concerto for performers and listeners alike and a hidden treasure for all viola players.


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...