Marshall University: Dr. Joseph Shapiro named Dean of Marshall University Medical School





The interactive transcript could not be loaded.



Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Mar 27, 2012

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. -- Dr. Joseph I. Shapiro, a nephrologist with more than 30 years of clinical and teaching experience, has accepted the position of dean of the Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine effective July 1, Marshall President Dr. Stephen J. Kopp announced today.
Shapiro currently serves as associate dean for business development and chair of the department of medicine at the University of Toledo College of Medicine in Toledo, Ohio. Shapiro was chosen through a nationwide search that started last summer, Kopp said.
Shapiro succeeds Dr. Robert C. Nerhood who has been serving as interim dean following former dean Dr. Charles H. McKown's appointment to vice president for health sciences advancement last summer. Nerhood will continue to serve in his interim role while Shapiro makes the transition to full time at Marshall. He will be the fifth dean since the School of Medicine was established under the Teague-Cranston Act adopted by Congress in the mid-1970s.
Kopp said he and search committee members believe Dr. Shapiro is the right match for the medical school, and for the entire region.

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License
Comments are disabled for this video.
When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...