STRAVINSKY SMILES 2 - "Arioso" (Marina Geller)





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on May 18, 2009

Smiling and laughing is not necessarily a mask or a part of public relations. They are also an essential part of a game, the Eternal Game of Childhood.
Artists and composers, who allowed themselves to smile in their works, participated in this game of Free Spirit, striving to create new undiscovered worlds. They allowed themselves to remain children. Such are many pieces of Mozart and drawings of Picasso.
Such are many works of Igor Stravinsky.

Stravinsky used many musical materials ready at hand as a part of his own game his LEGO game. But no matter where these materials came from be it a traditional Russian chant or a quotation from earlier composers it is always Stravinskys own imprint that is unmistakably identifiable.

Two Israeli-Russian composers had enough courage and childish spirit to take this game one step further. Uri Brener and Marina Geler decided to do the same with Stravinskys own music to take pieces from many of his works (Concerto for strings in D, Symphony in C, Symphony in Three Movements, Violin Concerto, Pulcinella, Symphony of Psalms,Rite of Spring and others) and to treat them as a ready-made materials for constructing their own LEGO.

Marina Geler, who wrote the middle part and Uri Brener, who composed the first and the last ones, are deeply convinced that such an approach is the greatest possible homage to Stravinskys musical legacy.

The piece was performed around Israel (Haifa, Tel-Aviv, Ramat-Gan) by the "Tel-Aviv Soloists" ensemble with Barak Tal as a conductor, Amit Weiner as a piano player and Uri Brener on the accordion.

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...