Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Uploaded on Oct 26, 2011


JOHN SUND - THE OPEN ROAD - a travelogue in four parts.
This video is presented like a collage, consisting of various excerpts of the individual songs, mixed and spliced together as one continuous piece, with accompanying pictures - to give an overall impression of the broad musical adventure which makes up this CD.

This CD was nominated for a Grammy by The Danish Music Awards 2012 in the category "Best Cross-over CD of the Year".

Read more:

"Danish guitarist John Sund have with his new CD release THE OPEN ROAD created one of this years best World-Music releases"
- Jazz Special Magazine, by Niels Christensen - Copenhagen, Denmark.

This new CD release "The Open Road" from Danish guitarist and composer John Sund, is literally a journey through different musical cultures, owing to a fruitful cooperation with various musicians from India, Africa, Balkan (Serbia/Hungary) and Scandinavia.

The project involves 19 musicians altogether and was created and embellished on over a longer period of time. The music is difficult to categorise -- but one could simply describe this project as born out of a merger of different cultures, where John has composed the music based on the various artists involved. If one should try to put it into words, then one is literally involved in a musical adventure -- not only just geographical, but also in place of time -- from perhaps thousands of years old native music, to modern classical, world music, jazz, 'hip hop' grooves, fusion, ambient and lounge music, etc., but even more essential -- a journey through different places in your mind via the various atmospheres and sensual impressions this music awakes.

John Sund - electric & acoustic guitars, samples, programming, composer, arranger (DK)
Simon Andersen -- slide guitar, co-poducer, recording engineer (DK)
Ayi Solomon - percussion (Ghana)
Moussa Diallo - bass (Mali)
Zoltan Csörsz - drums (The Flower Kings, Jonas Hellborg) (Hungary)
Dawda Jorbateh - kora (Gambia)
Lelo Nika - accordion (Serbia)
Andrzej Krejniuk -- bass (Poland)
John Ehde -- cello (Sweden)
Morten Lundsby -- contrabass (pizz. & arco) (DK)
Andreas Markus -- contrabass (arco only) (DK)
Nana Osibio -- bass (Ghana)
Akinyi Nyawade -- vocals (Kenya)
Sandipan "Sandy" Chatterjee -- jaws harp, tabla, bansuri, narrative voice, vocals (India)
Palden Sherpa -- lead vocal (India)

Horn section:
Rasmus Krøyer -- clarinet & bass clarinet (Afenginn) (DK)
Kasper Wagner -- alto sax (DK)
Hans Nybo -- tenor & bariton sax (DK)


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up Next

Sign in to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...