Erich Wolfgang Korngold - Violin Concerto in D major - Stefan Jackiw





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Apr 4, 2013

Erich Wolfgang Korngold (1897 - 1957)
Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35 (1945)

Stefan Jackiw - Violin
Orquesta Sinfonica de RTVE
Carlos Kalmar - Conductor

00:02 Moderato Nobile
09:38 Romanze
18:54 Allegro assai vivace

- Moderato nobile: The magnificent soaring violin solo which opens the concerto is a theme from Another Dawn (1937), running over two octaves in five notes. Juarez (1939) provided the second theme, more expansive and reliant upon the orchestra.

- Romanze: A solo clarinet introduces the principal theme of the slow movement, quoted from Anthony Adverse (1936) and revisited after a contrasting middle section that seems to have been uniquely composed for the concerto.

- Allegro assai vivace: The most demanding movement for the soloist begins with a staccato jig, which leads to a second theme based on the main motif from The Prince and the Pauper (1937) and builds up to a virtuoso climax.


to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...