John Harbison: Confinement (1965)





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Uploaded on May 22, 2011

John Harbison (*1938): Confinement, for flute, oboe & English horn, clarinet &
bass clarinet, alto saxophone, trumpet, trombone, violin, viola, cello, double
bass, piano, percussion (1965).

The Contemporary Chamber Ensemble diretto da Arthur Weisberg.

Confinement, written in 1956, is laid out in four rather clearly demarcated sections which are, however, connected without pause. The title (along with movement subtitles) was originally associated with lines on the subject of illness, drawn from John Donne's Devotions; the composer,
however, no longer wishes these specific references to be given. Nevertheless, the conception of "confinement" pertains not only to musical restrictions but also to states of mind. The basic idea is that of strict or rigid shapes contrasted or in conflict with freer or looser ones. Thus disparate elements are brought together in very close, tight forms which are also intended to serve as analogies or metaphors.


The music published in our channel is exclusively dedicated to divulgation purposes and not commercial. This within a program shared to study classic educational music of the 1900's (mostly Italian) which involves thousands of people around the world. If someone, for any reason, would deem that a video appearing in this channel violates the copyright, please inform us immediately before you submit a claim to Youtube, and it will be our care to remove immediately the video accordingly.

Your collaboration will be appreciated.

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...