YouTube home #HappyBirthdayYouTube


Art of Noise - Close to the Edit





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Uploaded on Nov 15, 2008
Art of Noise were an avant-garde synthpop group formed in 1983 by producer Trevor Horn, music journalist Paul Morley, and session musicians/studio hands Anne Dudley, J.J. Jeczalik, and Gary Langan. The group's mostly instrumental compositions were novel melodic sound collages based on digital sampler technology, which was new at the time. Inspired by turn-of-the-century revolutions in music, the Art of Noise were initially packaged as a faceless anti- or non-group, blurring the distinction between the art and its creators. The band is noted for innovative use of electronics and computers in pop music and particularly for innovative use of sampling.

The name of the group alludes to the essay The Art of Noises by noted futurist Luigi Russolo. From the earliest releases on ZTT, the band referred to themselves as both Art of Noise and The Art of Noise. Official and unofficial releases and press material use both versions.

Singles: * "Beat Box" (1983) * "Moments In Love" (1983) and (1985) * "Close (To the Edit)" (1984) * "Legs" (1985) * "Paranoimia," featuring Max Headroom (1986) * "Peter Gunn," featuring Duane Eddy (1986) — Grammy Award winner in 1987 * "Legacy" (1986) * "Dragnet" (1987) * "Kiss" (1988) * "Yebo!", featuring Mahlathini and Mahotella Queens (1989) * "Art of Love" * "Shades of Paranoimia" * "Dreaming in Colour" (1998) * "Metaforce," featuring Rakim (1999)

Albums: * Into Battle with the Art of Noise mini-album (1983) * Who's Afraid of the Art of Noise? (1984) * In Visible Silence (1986) * In No Sense? Nonsense! (1987) * Below the Waste (1989) * The Seduction of Claude Debussy (1999)


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up Next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...