1939 National Championships for Ski Jumping





The interactive transcript could not be loaded.


Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Mar 20, 2011

The St Paul Ski Club erected this 60 meter ski jump for the 1939 St Paul Winter Carnival. The St Paul Ski Club in conjuction with the St Paul Winter Carnival Association, obtained a sanction to host the 1939 National Ski Jumping Championships.
Norwegian star Reidar Andersen captured first place honors in the "A" class competition. Andersen was also the 1938 FIS World Champion and winner of the famous Holmenkollen jumping tournament that same year.
Former U.S. Champions and Olympic athletes: Casper Oimen, Sverre Fredheim, LeMoine Batson, Walter Bietila, George Kotlarek, Roy Mikkelson, Jimmy Hendrickson, Lloyd Ellingson, Sig Ulland, Alf Engen and Eugene Wilson were all on hand to compete in the Class "A" competition.
Andersen captured first place with jumps of 193 and 197 feet. 2nd was Alf Engen (183 and 189 feet), Eugene Wilson was third (189 and 186 feet) and 4th place went to Sverre Fredheim (176 and 186 feet).
Senior Class honors went to St Paul jumper - Gjardar Iverson. Len Soler from St Paul took "B" Class honors and another St Paul jumper Gene Lewis took 1st in the "C" class competition.

Information obtained from the book "On Wings of Wood" A Summary of the First 100 Years of the St Paul ski Club by Tom Harrington with Wally Wakefield.

Narrated by the late Tom Harrington as part of a special program held at the St Paul Ski Club some years ago. The camera operator is unknown.


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...