March of the President of the Philippines | AFP Military Honors





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Jan 6, 2011

As the President of the Philippines arrives for any event that requires the involvement of the Armed Forces of the Philippines, members of the AFP render full military honours to the President as Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces. This march is played by the AFP marching band with a twenty-one cannon salute. Composed by Ernani "Jong" Cuenco, Jr., son of National Artist for Music, Ernani J. Cuenco, it was commissioned by then Chief Presidential Protocol Officer, Danilo Victoria as the official march of the President of the Philippines. This march was first used during the Estrada presidency until its replacement under President Benigno Aquino III by "Parangal Sa Pangulo" (Honours for the President), composed by Major Xavier Celestial. Unlike the former march, "Parangal Sa Pangulo" has lyrics.

Preceded by four ruffles and flourishes, the highest form of salute that can be rendered, the march is played as the President stands before members of the AFP. The President then greets all the service commanders/branches of the Armed Forces in what is known as "Trooping the Line".

Many people have mistaken this march as the anthem of the President --- it is actually "We Say Mabuhay", composed by Tirso Cruz, Sr., which is played during military and government ceremonies. Most importantly, it is played right after the President-elect is sworn in during their inauguration, which occur every six years as prescribed in the Constitution of the Philippines. "We Say Mabuhay" is in the tradition of "Hail to the Chief", the official anthem of the President of the United States of America.


***Audio derived from the military honours rendered to the fifteenth President of the Philippines, President Benigno S. Aquino III, on the occasion of the 75th Anniversary of the AFP --- Armed Forces of the Philippines and the 2004 Presidential Inauguration of the fourteenth President of the Philippines, President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo.


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...