Zayed Future Energy Prize on CNN's "PRISM" aired on Oct 27, 2011





The interactive transcript could not be loaded.



Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Oct 30, 2011

Featuring 2012 Entrant Carl Pope, Chairman of the Seirra Club

PRISM is a provocative news program that will challenge viewers to step outside of their comfort zones, to see the news from a different vantage point, be it: cultural, political, geographical, economical, historical, by different ages, genders or faiths.

PRISM is presented by Stan Grant, CNN's United Arab Emirates correspondent based in Abu Dhabi.

Sundays to Thursdays
5pm GMT
8pm Saudi Arabia

The Zayed Future Energy Prize aims to inspire innovation and the development of barely imaginable solutions in the global race to address the crisis of climate change and the scarcity of renewable and sustainable energy. By creating a prize that recognizes and awards these future solutions, the Zayed Future Energy Prize hopes to inspire scientists, institutions and energy and technology students to innovate and market their ideas.

Companies, NGOs, individuals and institutions are eligible for the award, which recognises excellence in the innovation, development and implementation of sustainable energy solutions. The scope of the prize encompasses renewable and sustainable energy sources, efficient use of non-renewable energies, conservation, energy policy, and communications and public awareness. The winner receives the prize money this year has been increased to USD 4 mill, to invest back into their award winning project and to help accelerate development of their other ideas to make them marketable.

The prize honours the environmental stewardship legacy of the Late Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan Al Nahyan, Founding Father of the United Arab Emirates. Finalists are nominated by experts across the globe, while the winners are chosen by a jury chaired for the past three years by Dr R.K. Pachauri, Chairman of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change and winner of the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize.

(This video was created by CNN's Prism)


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...