W. A. Mozart : String Quartet in G major K. 387




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Oct 5, 2012

I: Allegro vivace assai II: Menuetto III: Andante cantabile IV: Molto allegro

The Stamic Quartet give a finely-judged performance at the 2012 'Indian Summer in Levoca' Festival.
The first of Mozart's 'Haydn' Quartets seems bathed in the good nature of its dedicatee. This work might almost be the epitome of the quartet as conversation. The work is warm and open throughout, with immaculate detail in the individual parts. The andante third movement strikes a deeper, sensual, atmosphere. But the finale, which tries to be a fugue, consistently veers into merriment -- the very end 'switches off' in a typical Haydn style.


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...