SCHUMANN: Symphony No. 4 in D Minor, Op. 120





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Sep 4, 2007

Passing Through: http://www.youtube.com/user/PassingTh... - Friends, Please visit my Poet friend "Passing Through's" YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/PassingTh... , and support him - Thanks :)

III. Scherzo: Lebhaft

The Symphony No. 4 in D Minor, op. 120, was composed by Robert Schumann. Although a version of this work was completed in 1841, Schumann heavily revised the symphony in 1851, and it was this version that reached publication.

Clara Schumann, Robert's widow, later claimed on the first page of the score to the symphony--as published in 1882 as part of her husband's complete works (Robert Schumanns Werke, Herausgegeben von Clara Schumann, published by Breitkopf und Härtel)--that the symphony had merely been sketched in 1841 but was only fully orchestrated ("vollständig instrumentiert") in 1851. However, this was untrue, and Johannes Brahms, who greatly preferred the earlier version of the symphony, published that version in 1891 despite Clara's strenuous objections.

The 1851 (published) version of the work is in five movements which follow each other without pause:

I. Ziemlich langsam - Lebhaft
II. Romanza: Ziemlich langsam
III. Scherzo: Lebhaft
IV. Etwas zurückhaltend - Langsam
V. Lebhaft

Conducted by: Sir Neville Marriner

(We appreciate Wikipaedia's contributions in the descriptions here)


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...