Ludwig van Beethoven (1770- 1827): String Quartet No. 4 in C minor, Op. 18 no. 4




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Oct 18, 2015

I. Allegro ma non tanto II. Andante scherzoso quasi allegretto III. Menuetto: Allegretto
IV. Allegro – Prestissimo
Beethoven’s six string quartets op. 18 were published in 1800/1801 as the new century broke. Whilst they clearly show what the young composer had learnt from Haydn and Mozart, they give great evidence of Beethoven’s originality. The C minor quartet, parts of which may date to his early years in Bonn, starts with an intensive movement with moments of explosive energy. The ‘slow’ movement is, unusually, marked ‘scherzoso’, while the irregular pulse of the minuet would make uncomfortable dancing. A rondo demanding virtuoso ensemble playing brings the work to an end.

The Czech Philharmonic Quartet play the work at the 2015 Indian Summer in Levoca.


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...