Beethoven, String Quartet No.9, Op.59 [1/4]





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Apr 4, 2012

The three "Rasumovsky" (or "Razumovsky") string quartets, opus 59, are the quartets Ludwig van Beethoven wrote in 1806, as a result of a commission by the Russian ambassador in Vienna, Count Andreas Razumovsky:
String Quartet No. 7 in F major, Op. 59, No. 1
String Quartet No. 8 in E minor, Op. 59, No. 2
String Quartet No. 9 in C major, Op. 59, No. 3
They are the first three of what are usually known as the "Middle Period" string quartets, or simply the "Middle Quartets." The other two are opus 74 and opus 95. Many quartets record all five as a set.
Beethoven uses a characteristically "Russian" theme in the first two quartets in honor of the prince who gave him the commission. In Op. 59 No. 1, the "Thème russe" is the principal theme of the last movement. In Op. 59 No. 2, the "Thème russe" is in the B section of the third movement, the scherzo, this theme being based on a Russian folk song which was also utilized by Modest Mussorgsky in his opera Boris Godunov and by Igor Stravinsky in his ballet The Firebird. In the quartet Op. 59 No. 3, there is no "Thème russe" explicitly named in the score, but many commentators have heard a "Russian" character in the subject of the Andantino movement.
All three quartets were published as a set in 1808 in Vienna.

Ludwig van Beethoven's String Quartet No. 9 in C major was published in 1808 as opus 59, no. 3. It consists of four movements:
Andante con moto - Allegro vivace (C major)
Andante con moto quasi Allegretto (A minor)
Menuetto (Grazioso) (C major)
Allegro molto (C major)
This work is the last of three quartets commissioned by prince Andreas Razumovsky, then the Russian ambassador to Vienna.

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up Next

Sign in to add this to Watch Later

Add to