YouTube home National Registration Day


Asheville Yoga Center teacher Michael Johnson explains the Five Niyamas





The interactive transcript could not be loaded.



Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Uploaded on Apr 17, 2011 Asheville Yoga Center teacher Michael Johnson explains the Five Niyamas of Yoga. The five internal practices of Niyama (observance) are part of Patanjali's eight-limbed yoga system. Michael demonstrates an asana practice.

Music : Kalachakra Bhavantu by Michael and Stephanie Johnson.

Visit to find out when Michael is teaching class.

Michael Johnson ERYT-500 is a certified Jivamukti instructor who has studied directly with Sharon and David in New York as well as with their Teacher Sri K. Pattabhi Jois in Mysore, India. He has been a full-time yoga teacher in the Detroit area since 2001. He continues to study Yoga and Buddhism with Geshe Michael Roach, Lama Christie McNally, Lama Sumati Marut, Kimberley Theresa and his Angelic wife, Stephanie Johnson.

Located in North Carolina, Asheville Yoga Center offers yoga classes, workshops, retreats and yoga teacher trainings and certification at the 200 and 500 hour level. Since 1997 we've been spreading the seeds of yoga in the southeast. First class is free.

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...