HGB (Henry Gorman Band) - Chase The Night Away





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Jan 29, 2014

Track #1 from "Henry Gorman Band" album by NWOBHM / hard rock band HGB (Henry Gorman Band), released in 1984. Tracklisting:
01 - Chase The Night Away.
02 - Stranger.
03 - Coming Down.
04 - This Time Tomorrow.
05 - Keep Off The Grass.
06 - On The Run.
07 - So, So.
08 - Don't Say No.
09 - On My Way.
10 - Daytime Lover.
11 - Get Out On Time.
12 - Too Late To Love Somebody.
The lineup was: Ronnie Garrity (bass), John Grant (drums, vocals), Danny Gisbey (keyboards, vocals), Henry Gorman (lead vocals, guitars).
Info: Some NWOBHM maniacs may know the Henry Gorman Band from their single "Chase the Night Away [Single] (1981)" but very few know about the existence of a full album by HGB! This happens because their only LP was released in Bulgaria (!!!!) and it's now a collector's item.
Label: Balkanton #BTA11280 (Bulgaria).
The Henry Gorman Band started around 1978/79 after the break up of "Rivendell", a band that won the 1st Melody Maker battle of the bands in Scotland. HGB went on to tour with Frankie Miller, Wishbone Ash, Budgie, Girlschool and Played the first Loch Lomond Festival alongside Ian Gillan, Lindesfarne, Wild Horses, Denny Laine and many others.
The band also performed the first annual Kelvingrove Festival which was such a success that they were asked to headline the following year. Henry signed with publisher Jonathan Rowlands who owned the 'Producers Workshop' In London where the band went to record what was to become 'The Official Bootleg'Album Produced by Chris Adams (String driven thing) and the band, a single was released 'Chase the night away' which was championed by Tommy Vance on Radio 1 and Douggie Donnelly on Radio Clyde. HGB built a large following around Scotland and toured relentlessly. Went to Europe and played some gigs and TV shows. Highlighted by the trips to Bulgaria and Poland during the Solidarity riots and at the death of Brezhnev. It was an interesting time.
HGB,s Album was really "bootlegged" by the State and became the top selling album next to 'The Stones'. The band eventually moved to London as the Record Industry was nowhere to be seen in Scotland in those days. The musical times were 'a changing which made Henry decide to move to New York in 1984.
Not long after moving to the States Henry moved into writing and producing other artists and was signed to Geffen records with his new band "Roo ha ha" as well performing alongside artists such as James Brown, Midge Ure and Robert Palmer, he has co-written and produced songs with writers Scott English (Westlife/Barry Manilow) Kenny Young ( The Drifters) Lisa Greene (Brittney Spears/ Kylie) Ray St John (Sade) and many more.
Mr Gorman was also a member of " The Far Corporation" a collection of top musicians brought together by producer Frank Farian who had worked with Barkley James Harvest, Donna Summer and Stevie Wonder ( The Group where going to be Called " The Frank Farian Corporation" but that was too much of a mouthful) they made the charts with "Stairway to Heaven" a feat not even achieved by Led Zeppelin as they never released the song as a single.
His last project in New York was "Big Stupid Guitars" with the album "Crack" which received rave reviews from various newspapers making it onto the album of the month column in the New York Post.

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...