Loading...

Aquarius Rising - Songs of Hope for Haiti - Allison Crowe

1,557 views

Loading...

Loading...

Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Feb 7, 2010

The earthquake disaster in Haiti focused the world's attention on the country - and a call for help.

Randy Winchester, Events Coordinator of The Nave Gallery in Cambridge / Somerville, Massachusetts, USA brought together a dozen musical friends of the Nave, a group of artists which includes Allison Crowe (known for her originals as well as interpretations of Leonard Cohen's "Hallelujah" and other much-loved covers), contributing her song "Aquarius Rising", to make an album, "Songs of Hope for Haiti".

Says Randy: "Songs of Hope for Haiti is a project to help relief efforts in Haiti. Please consider making a donation to Partners In Health. Go to their website @
http://act.pih.org/page/outreach/view...
and learn about the good work that they do around the world, especially in Haiti. PIH needs our support now more than ever during this enormous crisis.

Partners In Health (PIH) works to bring modern medical care to poor communities in twelve countries around the world, and has been working on the ground in Haiti for over twenty years. The work of PIH has three goals: to care for their patients, to alleviate the root causes of disease in their communities, and to share lessons learned around the world. Based in Boston, PIH employs more than 11,000 people worldwide, including doctors, nurses and community health workers. The vast majority of PIH staff are local nationals based in the communities they serve.

You can find the album here on Jamendo:
http://www.jamendo.com/en/album/60529

The album features new songs by:

* The Accident That Led Me To The World
http://www.theaccidentthatledmetothew...
* Bill Barclay http://www.shakespeare.org/billbarclay
* Yael Bat-Shimon http://www.myspace.com/yaelbatshimon
* Allysen Callery http://www.myspace.com/theallysencallery
* Allison Crowe http://www.allisoncrowe.com
* Ken Field http://kenfield.org
* Jim Goodin and Peter Thðrn http://www.jimgoodinmusic.com
* Allyssa Jones http://www.allyssajones.com
* Dennis Moser http://www.sonicbids.com/epk/epk.aspx...
* Celia Slattery http://www.celiaslattery.com
* Michael Winograd Klezmer Ensemble http://www.michaelwinograd.com
* Zefiro http://www.zefiroensemble.com

And thanks to V. Van Sant, graphic designer for our beautiful album cover and Melissa Glick for promotion.

I hope that you enjoy this album and please give generously to help support Partners In Health. Thank you."

As well, Randy notes: "The Nave Gallery, is pleased to announce a Benefit Concert on Friday, February 12 to benefit Partners in Health, an organization providing medical care to earthquake victims in Haiti. The concert will feature singer/songwriters Allysen Callery, Celia Slattery, and Allyssa Jones, along with accompanist Mark Shilansky. Each of the artists appearing at the Benefit Concert have contributed a track to the album."

Join "Songs of Hope for Haiti" in supporting Partners In Health c/o:

The Nave Gallery http://www.navegallery.org
Partners In Health
http://act.pih.org/page/outreach/view...
Facebook http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid...
Jamendo http://www.jamendo.com/en/artist/Song...
Myspace http://www.myspace.com/songsofhopefor...
Allison Crowe http://www.allisoncrowe.com

Loading...

When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next


to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...